Fiskars Group
Press Release
May 28, 2020 at 11:00 a.m. (EEST)

Fiskars design team acclaimed with the ‘Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2020’

The Fiskars design team has been awarded one of the highest distinctions of the design industry, the ‘Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2020’ title. A tribute to sustainable and innovative design, the honorary title is given to only one team each year.

Fiskars is proud to announce it has been recognized with the prestigious ‘Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2020’ title. Since 1988, the title has been given annually to a design team with consistently strong achievements. Receiving the award is a very special honor, as it can’t be applied for, but is based on consistently strong design achievements. Over the years, brands like Ferrari, Porsche and Lenovo have received the award.

“Our team is extremely proud to receive this award, which celebrates our tradition of nurturing good design. Ever since Fiskars was founded, we have stayed true to our strong heritage and DNA while being bold and innovative. To us, it’s all about staying curious about the world while being loyal to our roots,” says Petteri Masalin, the Creative Design Lead at Fiskars.

As a highly innovative design brand, Fiskars has consistently found ways of reinventing itself. Established in Finland in 1649 as an ironworks, Fiskars has always had a passion for high-quality design. The brand is best known for its gardening, cooking and crafting products, the most iconic of them being its orange-handled scissors. In 1967, Fiskars introduced the world’s first pair of plastic-handled scissors. Since then, over 1 billion scissors have been sold globally. Other globally recognized Fiskars products range from axes to pruners, and pots and pans alike.

“It was 30 years ago that Fiskars won its first distinction in the Red Dot Award: Product Design. Ever since, the company’s products have been winning over not just our jury but also myself. The design team’s creations are characterized by their ergonomic and user-friendly nature. The technological innovations and groundbreaking combinations of materials together with the understated matter-of-factness make these products really quite special. I want to congratulate the title winners very sincerely on this extraordinary design achievement,” says Professor Dr. Peter Zec, founder and CEO of the Red Dot Award.

“This title is a great honor, and it proves we are indeed making a positive change in people’s daily lives. Here at Fiskars, we call this ‘making the everyday extraordinary’. Since our journey started in 1649, we’ve been present in people’s everyday lives – at home, in the garden and outdoors. Fiskars, like all our other brands, has a unique identity, with a strong focus on detail, design and high quality,” says Sari Pohjonen, Interim CEO of Fiskars Group.

Over the years, several Fiskars products have received distinctions in the Red Dot Design Award for design excellence, including multiple ‘Red Dot: Best of the Best’ awards for ground-breaking design. This year, the ‘Red Dot: Best of the Best’ Design Award was given to the Fiskars watering nozzles and wands.

Starting 23 June 2020, an exhibition showcasing the vast design history of Fiskars opens in the Red Dot Design Museum Essen, in Germany.

More information
Merja Lake
PR & Communications, Fiskars 


Since 1649, Fiskars has been guided by the ageless principles of high quality, functionality and sustainable design. Today we are one of the leading gardening and cookware brands in the world, inspiring a more creative everyday.

Red Dot

Red Dot Award has been finding the year’s best product designs since 1955. Its distinction, the Red Dot, is established internationally as one of the most sought-after quality marks for good design. Manufacturers and designers can submit their industrial products in 49 categories at present. A winning product receives the distinction ’Red Dot‘, while only the outstanding products of a category receive the award “Red Dot: Best of the Best”. Since 1988, the title of honour ’Red Dot: Design Team of the Year‘ is granted to a design team that wins over the jury with consistently strong design achievements.